My internship at ARA City Radio

Becoming a successful journalist lies in a combination of factors, I’m told. Pushing boundaries, questioning the world around you, being curious about everything, all the time. It also helps if you’re good at writing. And if you enjoy reading.

The thing is, some people are born to be storytellers – others just have to work really hard at it.

I’m one of those people who wasn’t born to do anything. I was born, and then the series of decisions and choices I’ve made have helped define me and, ultimately, choose what I want to do with my life.

I want to become a journalist. And yes, I’m part of those who have to work really hard at it. The next step after getting a degree on journalism is doing internships – and lots of’em.

I’ve done three so far (I’m actually in the middle of one right now), but there was one that made me realize how important it is to do professionally what you love. And though I may not yet know if I want to work in print or broadcasting, I do know that I’ve gotten to love radio – something that I rarely used to listen to.

A month ago I did my intership at ARA City Radio, in Luxembourg. It was short but I learned a lot from it and, most of all, it was fun.

ARA City is a small, alternative, English-speaking radio station in Luxembourg and while working there I learned more about broadcasting, like on-air presenting and sound editing for example, but what mostly struck me at ARA was the positive working atmosphere.

I had to wake up at 5h30 am everyday (during my holidays, I might add) and people felt bad for me, but I felt it was worth it. I was learning about what I love while helping others and interacting with new people.

This positive working atmosphere at ARA just goes to show how much more productive people are when they do something they actually enjoy, with nice colleagues and a friendly boss.

Presenters at ARA City Radio: Ben Andrews, Tara James and Sam Steen

 Internships like these make you want to work hard and keep on trying to be the best you can be at what you do. So to all of you future journalists like me – the ones that aren’t exactly “naturals” – don’t lose hope, just keep working and face your future head on, because impossible is nothing.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “My internship at ARA City Radio

  1. Really nice content! London is incredibly addictive 😉

  2. JL

    “I’m one of those people who wasn’t born to do anything. I was born, and then the series of decisions and choices I’ve made have helped define me and, ultimately, choose what I want to do with my life”

    I love you!

  3. You did it again!! Enjoyed reading it very much. Keep on fighting, its a jungle out there!!!

Leave a Reply

